The Zoo Project: Capybara Version

When the Farm Manager read my book she was appalled.

“What are you thinking? We’re going to have so many visitors I’ll never get anything done around here! The traffic, our tiny parking lot, it will be a disaster! Then people will be asking for a concession stand and we’ll have to rent a port-a-potty. I’ll have to hire someone to operate the gift shop . . . what will the neighbors think?”

I hadn’t considered the consequences of my popularity. It would surely interfere with naptime. She agreed to let me continue with my book on the condition that she be allowed to insert an appendix: a list of zoos where people can see capybaras.

It turns out that a lot of zoos have capybaras. She’s working on what she calls The Zoo Project right now. I’m sure you can hear the cussing in the background. That’s because websites lie, google sends updates daily, and we get transferred from one zoo to another at the drop of a hat. That’s where you enter the picture. Could you please help the Farm Manager keep this list up-to-date by dropping her a line? If you send photos, I’ll talk her into making a gallery. If she can keep this list current, we won’t hear from disgruntled customers about an erroneous listing. Face it, you get what you pay for.

Here’s the list:

United States  
AL Montgomery Zoo http://www.montgomeryzoo.com/
AR Little Rock Zoo http://www.littlerockzoo.com/
AZ Out of Africa Wildlife Park, Camp Verde http://outofafricapark.com/
AZ Reid Park Zoo, Tucson https://reidparkzoo.org/
AZ Wildlife World Zoo & Aquarium, Litchfield Park http://www.wildlifeworld.com/
CA Fresno Chaffee Zoo, Fresno http://www.fresnochaffeezoo.org/
CA Happy Hollow Zoo, San Jose http://www.hhpz.org/
CA San Diego Zoo http://www.sandiegozoo.org/
CA San Francisco Zoo http://www.sfzoo.org/
CO Denver Zoological Gardens http://www.denverzoo.org/
DE Brandywine Zoo, Wilmington https://brandywinezoo.org/
FL Brevard Zoo, Melbourne https://brevardzoo.org/
FL Jacksonville Zoo http://www.jacksonvillezoo.org/
FL Palm Beach Zoo and Conservation Society, West Palm Beach http://www.palmbeachzoo.org/
FL Zooworld, Panama City Beach http://zooworldpcb.com/
ID Zoo Boise, Boise https://zooboise.org/
IL Scovill Children’s Zoo, Decatur http://www.decatur-parks.org/scovill-zoo/
KS Rolling Hills Zoo, Salina http://www.rollinghillszoo.org/
KS Sedgwick County Zoo, Wichita https://www.scz.org/
LA Alexandria Zoo, Alexandria http://www.thealexandriazoo.com/
LA Audubon Nature Institute, New Orleans http://audubonnatureinstitute.org/zoo
LA Baton Rouge Zoo http://www.brzoo.org/
MA Forest Park Zoo, Springfield https://www.forestparkzoo.org/
MA Franklin Park Zoo/Stone Zoo, Boston http://www.zoonewengland.org/franklin-park-zoo
MA Southwick’s Zoo, Menden http://southwickszoo.com/
MD Salisbury Zoological Park, Salisbury http://www.salisburyzoo.org/
ME York’s Wild Kingdom, York http://www.yorkswildkingdom.com/
MI Detroit Zoological Society, Royal Oak https://detroitzoo.org/
MI John Ball Zoo, Grand Rapids http://www.jbzoo.org/
MO Kansas City Zoo, Kansas City https://www.kansascityzoo.org/
MO Saint Louis Zoological Park https://www.stlzoo.org/
MS Hattiesburg Zoo http://www.zoohattiesburg.com/
NJ Bergen County Zoological Park, Paramus http://www.co.bergen.nj.us/437/Bergen-County-Zoo
NJ Cape May County Park Zoo http://www.cmczoo.com/
NJ Turtle Back Zoo, West Orange http://turtlebackzoo.com/
NM Albuquerque Biological Park http://www.cabq.gov/culturalservices/biopark/zoo
NY Animal Adventure Park, Harpursville http://theanimaladventurepark.com/
NY Buffalo Zoological Gardens https://buffalozoo.org/
NY Staten Island Zoo http://www.statenislandzoo.org/
OH African Safari Wildlife Park, Port Clinton http://www.africansafariwildlifepark.com/
OH Akron Zoological Park, Akron http://www.akronzoo.org/
OH Cincinnati Zoo & Botanical Garden http://cincinnatizoo.org/
OH Cleveland Metroparks Zoo https://www.clevelandmetroparks.com/zoo
OR West Coast Game Park, Bandon http://www.westcoastgameparksafari.com/
PA Elmwood Park Zoo, Norristown http://www.elmwoodparkzoo.org/
PA Erie Zoo https://www.eriezoo.org/
PA Lake Tobias Zoo, Halifax https://www.laketobias.com/
PA Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium http://www.pittsburghzoo.org/
SC Waccatee Zoological Farm, Myrtle Beach http://www.waccateezoo.com/
TN Brights Zoo, Limestone http://www.brightszoo.com/
TN Chattanooga Zoo http://www.chattzoo.org/
TN Memphis Zoo https://www.memphiszoo.org/
TX Caldwell Zoo, Tyler http://caldwellzoo.org/
TX Cameron Park Zoo, Waco http://www.cameronparkzoo.com/
TX Dallas World Aquarium http://www.dwazoo.com/
TX Dallas Zoo http://www.dallaszoo.com/
TX El Paso Zoo http://www.elpasozoo.org/
TX Gladys Porter Zoo, Brownsville http://gpz.org/
TX Houston Zoo http://www.houstonzoo.org/
TX San Antonio Zoological Gardens and Aquarium https://sazoo.org/
TX Sharkarosa Park, Pilot Point https://www.sharkarosa.com/
TX Snake Farm, New Braunfels http://www.awsfzoo.com/
TX TDS Game Ranch, Creedmore http://www.texasdisposal.com/exotic-game-ranch/
VA Roer’s Zoofari, Reston http://www.roerszoofari.com/
WI Henry Vilas Zoo, Madison http://www.vilaszoo.org/
Canada
Alberta Edmonton Valley Zoo, Edmonton https://www.edmonton.ca/attractions_events/edmonton-valley-zoo.aspx
B.C. Aldergrove Zoo, Vancouver http://gvzoo.com/
B.C. Kangaroo Creek Farm, Winfield http://kangaroocreekfarm.com/
Ontario Bervie Zoological Park, Kincardine https://www.facebook.com/Bervie-Zoological-Park-483709711689878/
Ontario Riverview Park and Zoo, Peterborough http://www.peterboroughutilities.ca/Park_and_Zoo.htm
Ontario Toronto Zoo, Scarborough http://www.torontozoo.com/
Ontario High Park Zoo, Toronto https://www.highparkzoo.ca/
Ontario Bowmanville Zoo, Toronto http://www.bowmanvillezoo.com/
Quebec Biodome, Montreal http://ville.montreal.qc.ca/
Quebec Granby Zoo, Granby https://zoodegranby.com/en/
Europe  
Austria Vienna Zoo (Tiergarten Schonbrunn) http://www.zoovienna.at/
Belgium Dierenpark Planckendael, Mechelem https://www.planckendael.be/en/
Belarus Minsk Zoo http://minskzoo.by/en/
Czech Republic Zoological Garden in Jihlava (Zoologická Zahrada Jihlava) http://www.zoojihlava.cz/en/
Denmark Copenhagen http://www.zoo.dk/
England Birmingham Wildlife Conservation Park https://www.birmingham.gov.uk/bhamconservationpark
England Chessington Zoo, Surrey https://www.chessington.com/explore/chessington-zoo/
England Chester Zoo, Upton-by-Chester http://www.chesterzoo.org/
England Combe Martin Wildlife and Dinosaur Park, Ilfracombe http://www.wildlifedinosaurpark.co.uk/
England Cotswold Wildlife Park & Gardens, Bradwell Grove, Burford, Oxfordshire http://www.cotswoldwildlifepark.co.uk/
England Dartmoor Zoological Park, Sparkwell, Plymouth, Devon http://www.dartmoorzoo.org.uk/
England Drusillas Park, Alfriston, East Sussex http://www.drusillas.co.uk/
England Exmoor Zoo, South Stowford, Bratton Fleming, Barnstaple, North Devon http://www.exmoorzoo.co.uk/
England Port Lympne Reserve, Nr. Ashford, Kent https://www.aspinallfoundation.org/port-lympne/
England Newquay Zoo, Trenance Gardens, Newquay, Cornwall http://www.newquayzoo.org.uk/
England Peak Wildlife Park, Winkhill, Leek http://www.peakwildlifepark.co.uk/
England Safari Zoo, Melton Terrace, Lindal-in-Furness, Ulverston, Cumbria https://www.southlakessafarizoo.com/
England Twycross Zoo, Burton Road, Atherstone, Warwickshire https://twycrosszoo.org/
Germany Zoo Schwerin, Germany http://www.zoo-schwerin.de/
Germany Erlebnis Zoo, Hannover, Germany https://www.zoo-hannover.de/de
Germany Tierpark Chemnitz, Chemnitz, Germany http://www.tierpark-chemnitz.de/
Holland Burgers’ Zoo, Arnhem, The Netherlands https://www.burgerszoo.com/
Holland Apenheul Primate Park, Apeldoorn, The Netherlands https://www.apenheul.nl/
Holland Artis Zoo, Amsterdam, The Netherlands https://www.artis.nl/nl/
Hungary Budapest Zoo and Botanical Garden, Hungary http://www.zoobudapest.com/
Ireland Fota Island Wildlife Park, Ireland http://www.fotawildlife.ie/
Northern Ireland Belfast Zoo http://www.belfastzoo.co.uk/
Russia Krasnoyarsk Park of Flora and Fauna https://roev.ru/
Russia Moscow Zoo, Russia http://moscowzoo.su/
Russia Limpopo Zoo, Yaroshenko http://www.nnzoo.ru/
Russia Novosibirsk Zoo http://zoonovosib.ru/
Russia Perm Zoo http://www.zoo.perm.ru/
Russia Rostov-on-Don Zoo, Rostov http://www.zoopark-rostov.ru/
Slovakia Zoo Bratislava http://www.zoobratislava.sk/
Slovenia Ljubljana Zoo, Slovenia http://www.zoo.si/
Spain Barcelona Zoo, Spain http://www.zoobarcelona.cat/
Sweden Kolmarden Animal Park, Norrkoping http://www.kolmarden.com/
Sweden Parken Zoo, Eskiltuna http://www.parkenzoo.se/
Switzerland Berne Animal Park, Berne, Switzerland http://www.tierpark-bern.ch/
Switzerland Zurich Zoo , Switzerland http://www.zoo.ch/
Ukraine Kiev Zoo http://zoo.kiev.ua/
Ukraine Rivne Zoo http://zoopark.rv.ua/
Wales Folly Farm, Begelly, Kilgetty, Pembrokeshire https://www.folly-farm.co.uk/zoo
Latin America
Bolivia Santa Cruz Zoo, Bolivia http://www.boliviabella.com/santa-cruz-zoo.html
Brazil Bosque dos Jequitibas, Campinas, Sao Paulo http://www.campinas.sp.gov.br/sobre-campinas/atracoes-naturais.php
Brazil Rio Zoo, Rio de Janeiro http://riozoo.com.br/
Brazil Jardim Zoologico de Sao Paulo http://www.zoologico.com.br/
Mexico Chapultepec Zoo, Mexico City http://data.sedema.cdmx.gob.mx/zoo_chapultepec/
Uruguay Eco-Zoologico Reserve, Baños de Agua Santa http://ecozoosanmartin.com/
Asia
Hong Kong Ocean Park https://www.oceanpark.com.hk/en
Japan Izu Shaboten Zoological Park (Izu Cactus Park), Ito http://capybara.eek.jp/navi-sabo.html
Japan Nagasaki Bio Park http://www.biopark.co.jp/en/
Japan Nasu Animal Kingdom, Nasu-machi http://www.nasu-oukoku.com/
Japan Saitama Children’s Zoo http://www.parks.or.jp/sczoo/
Japan Many other zoos in Japan feature capybaras: http://capybara.eek.jp/navi.html
Malaysia Zoo Negara, Malaysia http://www.zoonegaramalaysia.my/
Singapore Night Safari of Singapore http://www.nightsafari.com.sg/
Taiwan Taipei Zoo, Taiwan http://www.zoo.gov.taipei/
Elsewhere
Antilles St. Maarten Zoo, Philipsburg, St. Maarten, Netherlands Antilles http://www.stmaartenzoo.com/
Australia Adelaide Zoo, South Australia https://www.adelaidezoo.com.au/
Australia Wildlife HQ Zoo, Queensland https://whqzoo.com/
Bahamas Ardastra Gardens, Zoo & Conservation Centre, Nassau http://www.ardastra.com/
South Africa Joburg Zoo, Johannesburg, South Africa http://www.jhbzoo.org.za/
Trinidad Emperor Valley Zoo, Port of Spain, Trinidad http://www.zstt.org/

 

Advertisements

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s